The Driver Suit Blog-My Picks For the 2015 NASCAR Hall Of Fame Class

Today, at 4PM Eastern Time, the 2015 NASCAR Hall of Fame class of 5 drivers will be voted on and announced. The nominees are:

Red Byron-First NASCAR Race Winner, First NASCAR Sprint Cup Champion

Richard Childress-Owner with 197 race victories,12 championships, first to win a Championship in the Sprint Cup, Nationwide, and Camping World Truck Seres,

Jerry Cook-One of the best all-time modified drivers in NASCAR history

Bill Elliot-1988 Sprint Cup Champion, two time Daytona 500 winner, Winner of the Winston Million in 1985, 16 time most popular driver

Ray Fox-One of the best early engine builders in NASCAR

Rick Hendrick-Owner with 15 Championships across all 3 of NASCAR’s top series, 269 race victories, and an unprecedented 11 Sprint Cup Championships

Bobby Isaac-1970 Sprint Cup Championship winner, 37 wins, Record holder for most poles in a season

Terry Labonte-Two time NASCAR Sprint Cup Champion, 1984, 1996.

Fred Lorenzen-Unstoppable between 1962 and 1967, 1965 Daytona 500 winner,

Raymond Parks-Red Byron’s 1949 car owner

Benny Parsons-1973 Sprint Cup Champion, 1975 Daytona 500 winner, longtime broadcaster and analyst.

Larry Phillips-won seven NASCAR Weekly Series regional championships and thirteen track championships

Wendell Scott-First African American to win a NASCAR Sprint Cup Race

O. Bruton Smith-Bulder of Charlotte Motor Speedway, owner/CEO of NASCAR track owner Speedway Motorsports, Inc

Mike Stefanik-7 time Wheelin Modified Series Champion-1989,1991,1997, 1998, 2001,2002, 2006, Two time Busch North Series Champion, 1997, 1998, 1999 Camping World Truck Series rookie of the year,

Curtis Turner-Won first race at Rockingham, 1965 Southern 500 Winner, Led NASCAR convertible division in poles-23, Wins-38, Wins in a season-22, Poles in a season-16,

Joe Weatherly-2 time Sprint Cup Championships-1962, 1963, 25 Sprint Cup wins

Rex White-1960 Sprint Cup Champion, 25 race wins,

Robert Yates-Owner with 1999 Sprint Cup Championship,58 Race Victories

First something I find to be unusual. Rick Hendrick, Richard Childress, and Robert Yates are all represented, but for some unknown reason, Jack Roush ISN’T! How is that possible? He has 315 wins and 7 championships in the Big 3 series in NASCAR! Why does he get left off, but Robert Yates gets a place? I just don’t get that at all.

Second, here are my picks for the 2015 NASCAR Hall of Fame class: Richard Childress, Rick Hendrick, Wendell Scott, Benny Parsons, and Bill Elliott. Last year I stated who I thought would make it in, but I did not like how that turned out, so I won’t do that this year.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.